Home Forums Software Development C++ OpenGL Solving Gaze Issues When Switching Between Users

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Russell
    Participant

I’m new to developing for the Tobii EyeX, and am trying to make a simple 2D OpenGL application with buttons that detect gaze/fixation. I based it on the sample Visual Studio projects provided. I’ve succeeded, but only by taking the gaze/fixation eventParam coordinates and offsetting them. The result is only accurate for me and my profile.

Page 23 of the Developer’s manual talks about using the ClientToScreen and ScreenToClient functions available to Windows users (btw, I eventually want to port this to Linux) to get accurate coordinates, but Tobii’s eventParams.X and .Y are doubles, while the ScreenToClient function takes a POINT who’s .x and .y are long ints. Casting between a double and a long int and back again hardly seems the right way to go, so I’m unsure what to do.

Any ideas/suggestions on what do/where to look for answers?

Jenny [Tobii]
    Participant

Hi Russell,

Explicit and implicit casting is actually what I would suggest to use and what we are using in the EyeX SDK samples that have a GUI. Any roundoff errors should be insignificant compared to the overall precision possible with eye tracking. I can’t remember now why the coordinates ended up being real values in the API – we are after all talking about physical pixels which only makes sense as integer values. Anyhow and anyway, there is code in the ActivatableButtons sample that uses the ClientToScreen function.