Home Forums Software Development access to unfiltered gaze point data in the Tobii Stream Engine

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    twentythree
    Participant

First of all, as a developer I love the stream engine. One thing that’s sorely missing though is access to unfiltered gaze data (or lightly filtered in the EyeX TX_GAZEPOINTDATAMODE_LIGHTLYFILTERED sense), which we need for some of our usecases. Is this on the roadmap?

Grant [Tobii]
    Keymaster

Hi @twentythree, glad to hear you are enjoying using the Stream Engine API with the Tobii Core SDK.

Indeed within the Gaze Point Data this is already lightly filtered @ https://tobii.github.io/stream_engine/#tobii_streamsh
    under the section ‘tobii_gaze_point_subscribe’

This is essentially the full raw data without any fixation filter applied to it, so I am not certain to which level of unfiltered data you are looking for… perhaps you meant if we will supply a fixation filter algorithm with the stream engine? I am afraid that is not currently in the pipeline but I can pass along your request for consideration.

In any event, if you could please clarify the request I would be more than happy to proceed. Thanks.

twentythree
    Participant

So far we’ve been doing our own fixation detection (we are aware of the fixation data available via the EyeX SDK, but we don’t use it widely). We haven’t evaluated yet whether that still works with the data we get out of the StreamEngine. If no, we will probably need fixation data from the stream engine, yes.