Home Forums Eye Tracking Devices Connecting the Tobii 4C with a microcontroller

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Marieke De Vylder
    Participant

Dear,
    I’m a Belgian student an I’m working on my thesis this year. For my thesis, I would like to use the Tobii 4C eye tracker. Normally you have to connect it to the screen, but can I also connect it to a microcontroller without a screen? So could you remove the screen and just look around you and get the coordinates of the points where you are looking at?

If you can’t use a microcontroller to do this and if you then use a laptop/pc, you can get de coordinates of the point on the screen where you are looking at. But I read that you can use a screen with a maximum size of 27″, what if I connect a screen of 15″? Is it then possible to get the coordinates of the points next to and above your 15″ screen if you are looking there (so ‘similating that your screen is 27″‘?)?
    So if I connect my pc to this eye tracker, but I’m ‘similating the screen’, is that a possibility?

Thank you in adavance!
    Marieke De Vylder

Grant [Tobii]
    Keymaster

Hi @marieke, and thanks for your query. Indeed the Tobii 4C tracker does depend on a connected monitor to properly work and is not compatible with a microcontroller in the manner you have specified.

There should be no problem in using a monitor of 15″.. the 27″ is just the maximum size over which we can guarantee accuracy so you don’t need to worry about ‘simulating’ a larger size.

Theoretically, you could overlay the 15″ screen itself with the stimulus you want to track.. say a book, or other 2D object.

Please bear in mind however, that the use of the Tobii 4C Eye Tracker for research or data analysis requires the purchase of a special analytical use licence to do so. You can read more about this @ https://analyticaluse.tobii.com/