Home Forums Software Development Tobii EyeX as Mouse Cursor Navigator

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Shahzad
    Participant

Hi,
    I am new in tobii eyex sdk development and i want to know that can i use tobii eyex gaze data to navigate mouse cursor.
    I am using tobii sdk 1.2 for python and currently facing issues to get eye coordinates or gaze data.

Any help in this regard will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Grant [Tobii]
    Keymaster

Hi @shahza, certainly within the older Tobii EyeX SDK v1.2 (Which is now deprecated) or with the new Tobii Core SDK, there is no inbuilt means to control the mouse cursor directly although with the Tobii Gaze Interaction Software as bundled with the Eye Tracker itself you have such features as ‘mouse warp’ which work together with your regular mouse for an enhanced user experience.

You should consider there are several issues when trying to fully emulate the mouse via Eye Tracking such as the
    inherently ‘noisy’ signal from EyeGaze due to small natural movements in the eye and the inability to resolve millimetre level of locations which are necessary for using a mouse in a standard Windows Environment (ie not using large button, etc).

However, that being said there are a great many 3rd party applications which have been developed that use the EyeX and C4 Tracker for mouse emulation such as PrecisionGazeMouse, Project IRIS, etc.

However, I suspected you wanted to develop your own software? In that case, I found for you an open source
    mouse replacement project which is based on the old SDK which you are currently using @ https://github.com/mikethrussell
    /EyeXMouse

Hopefully this information is of use to you!

Shahzad
    Participant

Hi @Grant!
    I am thankful to you on providing me a wonderful information to develop my own software to replace mouse.