Home Forums Game Integration Fast eye movement and panning of view

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Zplintz Zee
    Participant

I am new to the eyeX and I am currently using it primarily with Elite Dangerous but I imagine this is something that applies to many games.

If my eyes are focussed on an object in the 3d world and it moves across the screen, my eyes track and the view point tracks beautifully. However if my focus jumps from one object to another (as eyes do naturally), my eyes would in the real world do this in an instant and my brain blank out the movement in between – making it appear seamless.

EyeX (obviously) cannot do this, so you see the action/movement happening on the screen. At the moment it seems that the movement happens in very straight lines. I wondered if this might look/feel better if it happened in a smoother way? Maybe curving towards the target object (perhaps an options to choose straight line or an amount of curvature)?

Regards,
    Zplintz

This will be available in the 1.2 release. I’ve added a slider that controls how much “inertia” (which probably describes the experience the best) your gaze point should have. The main reason for adding this was to replicate the feeling of version 1.0.2 in ED (which used VJoy) but it is essentially what you describe.

Zplintz Zee
    Participant

You sir, are a star. I look forward to seeing (and testing if you need a beta tester) this version. 🙂

James Harford
    Participant

May I suggest that you reduce the “inertia” effect as the tracked object approaches screen center?