Home Forums Software Development _host.Dispose() hangs and application does not shutdown clearly

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Yann Gagnon
    Participant

Hi all,
    You’ll have to forgive me, I’m not a software developer, though I do have some programming experience.

I’ve gone through many of the examples, but I’m implementing the eye tracking a little bit differently since I wish to use the MVVM architecture and I’m using Caliburn Micro to help that along.

I created a new class as a Model (as per the MVVM convention) which contains both a host and a wpfinteractor as properties, and it has an OnExit method to Dispose the host. I create an instance of the model in the ViewModel (again MVVM). The problem is that Dispose hangs. However, if I call OnExit during the construction of the ViewModel(), then the method OnExit runs host.Dispose properly and all is good.

I’ve inspected my Model with a breakpoint, and the host appears to be a complete object, with an Id and everything. I’m at a lost why running OnExit within the ViewModel() constructor works, while it hangs when calling OnExit elsewhere. Again, the method is accessed, I have some dummy output to verify it, but it hangs at host.Dipose(). I should also note that I can get the eye tracking to work and output the gaze stream to the output window. The problem persists with or without any access to gaze stream data.

I would appreciate any enlightenment!

Yann Gagnon
    Participant

Update: I got it to work quickly by implementing a Stop Eye Tracker button and linking it to a method. My feeling is that the order of things shutting down was the culprit. Still hoping to implement a more robust solution.

Grant [Tobii]
    Keymaster