Home Forums Software Development Head Tracking data

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Austin Tung
    Participant

Hi, I’m playing around with the Tobii Eye Tracker 4c, and I’m kinda new to C#.

I trying to read head tracking data, but I am unsure how. As of now I want to at least read the output values related to head location and rotation.

I would appreciate if someone could help me, and explain a few things.

Thanks,
    Austin

Grant [Tobii]
    Keymaster

Hi @tungtwister, thanks for your query. Head tracking is one of several streams available via the Tobii Core SDK. I assume you are using the Interaction API?

That being the case, we have available a substantial number of sample programs included that demonstrate capturing the data received from the eye tracker, including head position information. You can download the samples freely @ https://github.com/Tobii/CoreSDK

And within the samples folder, you will find the ‘streams’ applications that should hopefully give you exactly what you need to get up and running. Please kindly try this out and don’t hesitate to let us know if you require any further assistance. Thanks.

Austin Tung
    Participant

Hi,

I have a question about the head tracking data being outputted.
    There are two coordinates that can be tracked, the head location and head rotation.
    Both are identified on the 3 dimensional space (x,y,z).
    Where are the origin points for both coordinates, and what directions are the axises x,y,z?
    It is unclear what which axis x, y ,z refers too.

Thanks,
    Austin

Grant [Tobii]
    Keymaster

Hi @tungtwister, This graphic represents the axis should for head position and rotation, with origin 0,0,0 at the screen.

https://i.imgur.com/uNI9Qu1.png

Let me know of any further questions.

Zamir Khan
    Participant

Hi Grant,

The diagram provided is helpful, but I’m wondering if you can fill in some of the blanks around it: